The Chateau de Saumur was built in the 10th century as part of a series of fortification program in France. The castle was destroyed by fire during the conquest of the Count of Anjou but was soon rebuilt by the English King Henry II in 1340 and reinforced with more massive walls topped by square towers. Embellishments continued into the sixteenth century and beyond.
Louis of Anjou fortified the defences and transformed the castle into a princely residence. Further works took place in the 14th century. In order to improve the defence, a second group of walls was built around the castle, and the corner tower was replaced by a polygonal tower, while the central tower was demolished and an annex to the northern wing of the castle was built. The north tower is flanked by smaller square towers, and the boardroom was painted by Van Eyk’s apprentices, with enlargement and embellishment continuing into the sixteenth century and beyond.